Getting What You Want: 3 Easy Steps

22 09 2009

Step one:  Figure out what it is you really want.

Sounds easy right?  Pfft, totally isn’t at least not in my experience.  And honestly I think this is the number one thing that hold people back.  I could just write this WHOLE post about this and leave it at that.  I won’t but I could.

Don’t get me wrong, everyone has an ‘idea’ of what it is they want.  You might even be really specific, but how many times have you wanted something and not gotten it.  A lot?  Well then, are you sure that’s what you really wanted?  Dig deep, hindsight is super clear.  Can you see all the little ways you ham-stringed and sabotaged yourself?  Did you change your mind a hundred little times, never moving in any clear decisive direction?

Sit down and write it out, what is that you want?  In great and clear detail.  BAM

Step Two: Take Action

Well duh, if I want it obviously I’m going to try to get it.  Oh yeah… REALLY??  How many times have you thought I want (a better paying job, to travel, a nicer boy/girlfriend, more free time, to get in better shape, lose weight.. the list goes on)?  Well if you thought it and then did it.. I have no idea why you’re reading this right now other than for the melodious sound of my imaginary voice in your head.

Obviously you have to take action, yet we often don’t.  Why?  Well see above, perhaps you don’t want it, or you’re scared to fail or you’re just too damn lazy to do anything about it.  <— I have been guilty of all of the above, well lets say more than 2 times and less than mmm a trillion times.

Think of something you can do to move in the right direction, anything big or small, I really mean it.  ANYTHING!!!  Once you start to get a little movement you’ll be surprised how fast things start to move with a little momentum.  If the ‘goal’ is too far off to figure out how to get there.. baby steps.

Step Three: Do What ever it Takes

Technically step three is merely an extension of step two, but I wanted three damn it. >.<

Sure you do what you can, or you do at least what is easy.  But if you REALLY want something, then you shouldn’t let anything get in your way.  want128469621290156250Most especially your fear.  Sometimes you know what you could or should do in order to get what you want.  But you still don’t do it.  That’s just stupid. <– again guilty as charged.

You need to actively weigh, what you want VS  what you need to do.  Is it worth it, do you want it that bad?  If not let it go, move on.  If so then do it and let nothing stand in your way (without damaging anyone else).

I really wanted 5 steps.. but it looks like it’s only going to be three *sigh*.  The good news?  That’s it right there!  Three steps, just three!!

Figure out what you want: make a clear picture.

Start moving forward, big steps, little steps doesn’t matter, move forward and keep going.

Let nothing stand in your way, but most importantly, do not let yourself stand in your way!

You are your biggest enemy, you are what stops you, you are the reason you don’t have what you want.

Get your ass in gear 😀

Actions

Information

2 responses

22 09 2009
bex

I KNOW… the first one really is the hardest, deciding what you want… after that you just ask for it and let it happen.

Sounds soooooooooooooooooo easy … I have been working with my life coach for 9 months on this one.

23 09 2009
Magdalicious

TOTALLY, it’s been like a two year project for me so far… and I’m only now.. kinda sorta starting to ‘get’ it. 😀

Leave a Reply

