Some updates:AKA Magda has been garbage at blogging.

19 02 2018

I was looking at my blog and it’s been legit years… since I’ve properly used this thing. I have lots to say, so why am I not saying it? Well, I’m busy, I work far more than I used to, plus I was doing my masters, and I have a cornucopia of excuses :P.

Anyway, I thought a good way to try to get back into it was to try to update Y’all on the past few years … I tend to be cagey on facebook bc it’s bum. So here is the first installment.

2014

I quit my job at Chingshin, actually I wanted to transfer to a different department but that didn’t work out and then my boss used that as a way to squeeze me out. Which annoyed me because I actually wanted to leave but my co-teacher had convinced me to stay for her and the kids. They dragged the whole thing out for a long time, I tried to get a different job but my tickets were already purchased based on my start date at the end of August.  I had a lot of trouble finding something I wanted. I was offered something at this school I’ve been dying to work with, but they needed me a week earlier and I couldn’t make it work.

I ended up taking a job at a kindi that had tried to hire/poach me from Chingshin before, the devil you know. In some ways it was great, my boss was lovely and really appreciated me, which was lovely. But it had a really strict curriculum and there was no room for variation based on one’s own experience and knowledge. There was a supervisor who was a huge pain in the butt, no experience, no teaching knowledge.. guh. And the guys there, my god talk about white male egos… they were shocking in their horribleness to work with. They felt they were the best thing to hit teaching, and I’m not saying they are bad at what they do.. but they were such raging assholes they created the most hostile work environment I could imagine.

My mom had been laid off from her job the previous year and she was struggling with what to do, her words “No one wants to hire a 60+ year old with no education to speak of”. Really got me thinking, you know I don’t have that much going for me education-wise, basically, everyone has a bachelor’s these days… and all my resume really talks about is teaching, mostly in these after school joints.  Jesus, what if I go home? At the kindi I was getting really depressed and tired of the job’s I’ve had. Maybe I was burned out and done with teaching.

I had known about this master’s degree for a year or more, but I’d never really looked into it much. I always think of it, no matter how bad Chingshin was, it was still a decent job so I wasn’t looking for improvement. But as a friend told me, nothing with push you to improve yourself like a terrible job. And how true it was, I was really unhappy where I was and needed to make changes. Things weren’t going well with Regis, he had broken his neck in an epically stupid stunt with his drunk friends, he ended up healing and being ok… but it was a strain on us.

Rolling up on the end of the year, I was depressed, my mom was super depressed, My relationship was clearly ending, I was burned out and was weighing my options. I was seriously considering moving back to Canada.. but when, how, do what?

…. to be continued


Actions

Information

3 responses

19 02 2018
mrclancy

fantastic instalment, Magna. I genuinely knew little of that. I can relate to the ‘go home and do what’ part. It’s quite confronting. I went from a successful teaching career in Taiwan to doing 3am starts working in a bakery in Australia for four years. All this while studying nights to get my Australian teaching degree, supporting my family and paying off a mortgage. My Taiwanese teaching experience meant so little here. Anyhow, looking forward to the next installment.

19 02 2018
Magdalicious

Ha glad you liked it! I figured a lot of people wouldn’t know the details of the past few years a lot has happened!

Yeah, I suspect even with my masters I wouldn’t even want to go into teaching back home. MAYBE in Canada, but there are no jobs… and in America.. no thanks :P.

Actually now I have a better idea of what I would do, something in marketing etc… I actually may start fiddling with it online in the next year or two hopefully working toward a remote source of income.

Next installment should be on Wednesday!

19 02 2018
Casey Abbott Payne

What’s this?! Fiddling with marketing remote work?! Excitement! 😀

Leave a comment