Superman Needs to find a new Home

9 01 2009

So I was thinking today.. who the heck even uses phone booths these days.. it’s almost iPhone Boothlike something that belongs in a museum.   And it’s SO weird…. I mean I remember when cell phones were the size of bricks and hell expensive.  No one had one.. so you used those public phones or phone booths.

Seriously though, outside of airports (and even then not often) when the heck do you see anyone using a pay phone?  Even more elusive than the pay phone… the pay phone that chills in it’s own booth.

This all came up for me because I park really close to this phone booth everyday in the mornings, and while I’ve obviously noticed it before it’s never really grabbed my attention.  Today when I pulled up to work (while trying to pry my frozen fingers off the handlebars) I was totally shocked to see some dude in the booth… using the phone.  Then I did a mental double take, why the hell is that so damn weird?  Dude is just using the phone.  LOL

That’s all 😀

Actions

Information

6 responses

9 01 2009
Nadine

Just goes to show how dependant we are on our electronic gadgets – I swear if I find that I’ve left my cell phone at home, I break into a cold sweat of absolute panic – what if there’s an emergency? A few years ago this would not have been an issue! lol I remember when cell phones first came to Smithers and all the suits were walking around with them, talking at the top of their lungs so everyone would notice “Hey look at me I have a cell phone and another reason why I’m so much better than you!” Dumbasses!

9 01 2009
Dave

AT&T has started to cease operations on payphones here in the US. I know when I saw the one remnants of one at the local tech college that I attend. It really made think how much has changed for sure these days.

13 01 2009
catcairn

The ‘suits’ and Mag as she talked me into getting her one for her safety. She told me me that when I was looking for her at night that she could not find a phone. I think it was the second month we had cell phone service in Smithers….lol now I have two and 3 computers…3 tv….tralala

13 01 2009
Magdalicious

Hey I only had one I wasn’t cruising around talking on it at the top of my lungs.. most people didn’t even know I had it.. and it was for emergencies 😉 as you’ll recall I never racked it up 😛

13 01 2009
Brian David Phillips

If one watches CSI for any length of time, it seems that serial killers, stalkers, and wild eyed crazy people still use public phones. Of course, most of them have evidently switched to disposable cellphones.

13 01 2009
Magdalicious

lol good point!

Leave a Reply

