Why Not?

1 06 2011

So what have I been to in the past few months?

Well nothing and a lot.   As I mentioned a few months back I had an epiphany.  About living life a for  the moment, and having a good time.  Some people say I need to focus and get my life on track, and perhaps they are right.  But I have spent a lot time focusing on things that I don’t actually hold to be important to me.

For the past few months I have just been enjoying life, and having a good time.  My recent motto in life has been “why not”, when faced with an opportunity I think well why not?  If I can’t think of a good reason not to, I’ve been shrugging and going with the flow.

And so far it’s panned out pretty well.  😀  Of course the first and most important why not is, because I don’t want to.  Don’t misunderstand this isn’t some kind of ‘yes man’ moment.  I’m not blindly agreeing to anything and everything based on some principal, honestly I’m only doing things that I’m either indifferent to or that I want to do on some level or other.

Oddly it seems to make saying no to things easier, like there are no rules of I can’t  say yes to this or that if I want to.. so when I don’t want to do something it’s a pretty clear feeling.   You know how sometimes you wiffle back and forth and you’re not really sure if it’s that YOU don’t want to do it or if it’s because you think you’re not supposed to do it?

Well my ” I don’t give a rat’s ass what I’m supposed to be doing” attitude has been getting worse 🙂 but I’ve been having much more fun and am generally happier for it.  Don’t get me wrong there are good points and bad.. but it’s a sight lot better than the lost desperate wandering and hoping for direction I’ve have previously.

People always say you should want more, expect more, try to be more and better, but why?  What’s wrong with being happy with the here and now?  What is wrong with being satisfied with what you have?  Seems so obvious, no?

Anyway, recently I’ve been lazy as hell about studying.. oops but I re-starting my chinese lessons and I’m also going to re-learn French.

I’ve been goofing off and partying like it’s 1999 sometimes, and it’s been a blast.  I went to Macau last weekend, basically on a ‘why not’ whim.  A large group of my poker friends were going and when it came to deciding if I should go or not, all I could think was.. why not?  It shouldn’t/didn’t cost all that much and it was a really funny and fun time.  Although I’m disappointed I was so well behaved.. lol boring.

I spent every tues and thurs evening for a few months playing free poker at a pub, made lots of new friends, reconnected with some old ones.  Spent the weekends, either partying, drinking, chilling or gaming… sometimes all of the above.

Generally life is great, and now.. SIGH I have to go to work.  More later 🙂  But there you have it .. a quick update 😉

Actions

Information

3 responses

1 06 2011
miltownkid

I think you’d like this book: The Underachiever’s Manifesto: The Guide to Accomplishing Little and Feeling Great. It was $4 at the time (the price went up!) and I picked it up because it sounded like my kind of book. It was. What was funny to me is the roommate saw it laying on a table and was like “Casey! Why’d you buy this book? It’s like… the opposite of you.” I was kind of shocked. lol

Turns out he thought I was all hardcore about getting things done and doing stuff. Then I thought about it for a moment as was like… yeah, I guess I am kind of hardcore about getting things done and doing stuff. 😛 I’m also pretty hardcore about not doing shit and enjoying it. 😀

Anyhow, underachieving is the SCIENCE! Although I also think overachieving is the science… Not sure how that works but it does for me. 🙂

7 06 2011
bex

DUDE!! YES!!!!!!!!! Thats great, I am so proud of you! Live NOW enjoy now be you. Living presently is the Only way, there is no point worrying about past (its OVER) and no point in fretting about the future (not here yet) so relaxing into the now is the best. It not that we have to become lazy bums relax, still work hard, study and excersise but do it knowing that your doing it for today for now.

If ya screw up, well there is another day coming and make sure to take note of what you learned from the screw up as to not do that again. Planing ahead for long term future is not gone, your learning still – studying,, your probably even interested in learning random things for what you may think is going to be useless but you feel like learning about it now so you do.. The Universe is going to do what it does. we Do not have a say in that. If shit is coming down the line then its coming if you like it or not. But when your living in the moment in the now when the shit comes your life is not full of drama so it seem like the shit thats happening is really not all that bad. And the good that comes if even that much better because you can enjoy it for what it is. Your brain isnt off thinking about the past or future.

I have implimented this into my life as well, about 8 months ago, AMAZING the change in my happiness and stress levels. Stress is a scary beast. I will email you this write up I read almost daily.

LOVIES
b

27 07 2011
Magdalicious

love this comment ❤

Leave a Reply

