A Life Better Lived

12 02 2011

I was biking the other day, and I got to thinking.  What’s the point?  I mean what does anyone want?  What do we have to show for our lives?

I’ve never been good with goals, they seem too, I don’t know, Meh?  It seems like a lot of work having all these goals and trying to achieve them, especially as I only seem to be doing it for everyone else.  I don’t really care.  Well why not?  My whole life, I’ve always thought it was kinda important to have fun.

So many people want to own a house, have a family, make lots of money so they have something to show for their lives.  But these things are just not motivators for me.  I’d rather do nothing than bust my ass for silly things like that.  I don’t want kids, I don’t really want to have some amazing career (mostly because it sounds life sucking and not fun), I would love to own a house but I’d probably give it to my mom to live in or something.

So while biking I kept coming back to the same thought.  A life better lived.  What is my goal in life?  Meh nuttin’.  What do I want? What do I care about?  Friends, my cat, my family… having fun.  It’s not so much about doing crazy things, just doing things that are fun for me.  Experiencing life, if not to the fullest then at least experiencing it.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not interested in doing something mental just for the ‘experience’ but at the same time I currently seem to be in this limbo where ‘tomorrow’ I’m going to start going out and playing with my camera, try that silly toilet restaurant, take the Mao Kong Gondola, go to Egypt (perhaps that will have to wait a min though) and a hundred other things.  Some more ambitious, some less but still this here tomorrow business is just rediculous.

I was thinking about it.   Everyone I know is getting married, having kids, working on their careers… and I’m just chillin’.  If I was totally happy with it, that would be fine, but sometimes I’m fine and sometimes I’m bored.  I feel like there should be more to it.   So I’ve decided that my thing will be a life better lived.  I don’t know that I’ll have any of the things that anyone else is working on, or that I’ll even want it.  But I will have photos, and memories of all the things I’ve done.

So if I’m captain adventure, why don’t I do anything?  Because I’m an even bigger coward.  I’m always scared of change and trying new things.  I go to restaurants and order the same thing, it’s safe and good.  But from not on, I plan to try to live by my new motto, a life better lived.  I will make an effort to break out of my shell and try something new and different when the opportunity arises.  I might even make the opportunities myself.

Like today, I suggested some friends and I go to the modern toilet place but at the last minute I changed my mind.  I just didn’t feel like being social, I wanted to be alone.  So I went for some sushi, and while at sushi, I thought, hey now…. instead of going home and doing nothing why not go check out the gondola? I didn’t know what time it closed, it was cold, dark and rainy, but I figured it didn’t hurt to at least drive over and take a look (it’s very close to my house, and in the years it’s been operational I’ve never been).

So I pootled on over, and lookie here it’s a Friday and they’re open late on Fridays.   So on a whim, I hopped on.   Now to be honest, I should have just gone up to the first station and back down, but silly me I went all the way to the top (it was only 50 nt).  I didn’t realize that it was such a long trip or that it was going to be as terribly cold as it was.  But hey, the city lights were pretty and I’ll definitely go again sometime during the day with my big fancy camera.  (And if I ever learn how to use the damn thing, I might get myself a nice new lens too).

On a random, completely alternate topic, I really need a new watch but they seem so darn expensive.  I was thinking of getting a new Fossil Watch, because I like their style.  The price seems to annoy me a little, but I was checking out prices of other brands and they don’t seem much cheaper.  Hmm decisions decisions.

Actions

Information

17 responses

12 02 2011
Nadine

I absolutely love your philosophy. A life better lived….. that really struck a cord with me. Just because other people want the house, kids and career doesn’t mean it’s a perfect fit for everyone. Just keep working on breaking out of that shell!!!!!

12 02 2011
Magdalicious

😀 thanks.. miss you!

12 02 2011
Nadine

One more thought…. what exactly is a toilet restaurant???

12 02 2011
Wayne

The toilet restaurant is a restaurant in Taipei where everything is served in dishes shaped like toilets.

12 02 2011
Magdalicious

yup.. still haven’t been

12 02 2011
Ell Tee

Wow, we’re the same.

I want to say something about “life’s about the journey” but I don’t want to sink to that level of cheese. However, for some of us it ends up being true. Experiences when they happen, small as they may be, seem preferable to looking back from one’s deathbed and checking of the list of stuff in the pile. A condo that I had to work 20 years to pay for will never compare to the time I saw the little tree frogs in the water barrel on the Xindian tea plantation.

12 02 2011
Magdalicious

You saw tree frogs?? I want to see them… AWESOME… That reminds me of three frog we found in Brazil (Did you know that most Brazilians are deathly afraid of frogs? They seem to think they run about peeing in people’s eyes… nutters) Pretty frog!

12 02 2011
bowet000

I have also come to this essential conclusion myself. Getting certified as a teacher is something I have wanted to do for a while, but then the plan is to go adventuring, and live my life exactly how I want to. I have no one else to consider in my plans, so I may as well do exactly whatever the fuck I want 🙂 I hope that you and I can be roomies again soon!

13 02 2011
Magdalicious

yay! I can’t even see ‘wasting time’ on these certifications… I’d rather waste my time on the beach… sigh

12 02 2011
bowet000

PS I like both the watches.

13 02 2011
Magdalicious

Me, to although I just grabbed the first couple of pictures I found. The ones I really like I didn’t see any pics of..

13 02 2011
bex

YAYAYAYAYAY Magda, YESSS lets all live a life full of fun and adventures that excite and scare us!!! I totaly agree. Plus everyones “perfect life” or “idea of fun” is totaly different. … really like the blueish one, so very pretty.

13 02 2011
Magdalicious

*nods enthusiastically~

13 02 2011
Dilip

Inspiring quotes! Thanks for sharing,

13 02 2011
Magdalicious

… quotes?

23 02 2011
sandy

Stop the search. There is nothing to be found; this is it. Life is it.
Google Jeff Foster + non duality. It may highlight what is.

26 02 2011
Magdalicious

Honestly, I don’t know what you’re talking about… when did I say anything about searching? The whole point was living life because life is it…. Your comment makes no sense to me.. care to elaborate?

Leave a Reply

