F-ing TSA

26 11 2010

(this started as a reply to a comment and took on a life of it’s own.. ooops) I guess a huge part of my point that I also should have mentioned in the original post is the whole inappropriate touching.  Like a teacher hugging a student back home is GASP horrible, which by the way, I do everyday because human beings need love and affection.

In Canada and the US I would at least be fired, at worst put in jail for child abuse.   Yet as k my boss, or the kids or their parents if they feel anything inappropriate is happening between myself and my students and the answer would be a resounding NO.  The older kids who still hug me regularly, do so because they love me and enjoy having someone they are close enough to that they can hug and express their affection.  The younger ones would hug a mouse if it held still long enough.  (this is a whole other ball of wax of things that blow my mind)  How is a hug, or pat on the shoulder inappropriate, but someone rooting about in your goodies is ok because someone somewhere MIGHT have something.  It boggles me.  We’re so obsessed with keeping everyone safe we want to box them up in mice padded little packages and never let them out… then we’ll all we safe.  Dead and soulless, but dang nab it .. we’ll be safe!

Perhaps if I put it this way you might be able to relate with my perspective more, or perhaps not (shrug).  But when I was younger ie teen (younger being relevant because if someone said it now I’d smack them) someone told me that I was dressed too sexily and I was asking to be raped by walking around like that.  As a young person it really got me thinking, I mean I should be afraid of rape.  And as a woman not wanting to be raped I don’t want to bring it on myself, dressing provocatively means you’re asking for it.  So if it happens then it’s your fault. Now if you agree with this line of logic.. blink blink… but hell more power to you.  But I don’t see many really feeling that is quite right. I think a man or a woman should be able to walk around stark naked with damn bells on their nipples (ok I don’t because I’m a prude) but the point is they aren’t fucking asking to be raped by doing it.

So how does this relate?  Because, living in a constant state of fear, and curbing our normal behaviours to stop some potential (and extremely improbable) threat is ridiculous.  And even worse allowing others to take away our rights and privacy that we as westerners value so much and have fought so hard for.  To just hand it back over to the powers that be because we’re afraid of the boogie man is insane.   

And it just keeps getting worse, now women wearing menstrul pads as ‘hiding’ things in their groin area so even if you submit to the scan you’ll be molested.  And the fear is Tampons will be even worse.  Imagine that excuse me mam, I need to remove this unidentified object to make sure you’re not a terrorist toting a bomb on board in your cooch. http://www.prisonplanet.com/sanitary-towel-prompts-tsa-to-grope-sexual-assault-victim.html

I”m fully aware there are bigger and better things going on in the world right now … but this pisses me off.  And it’s my blog so I’ll bitch about what I want to.

PS.. did you know I’m blocked in China.. what fun! wonder which post I wrote got me in their sights.  (pats self on head)

Actions

Information

4 responses

1 12 2010
razzray

wow. That REALLY makes me not want to go to the US at all. Interesting video.

2 12 2010
Wayne

You are wrong on one point: There is nothing going on in the world more important than this. Our freedom is the most valuable possession we have, without it we are all slaves. When the supposedly freest and most freedom-loving country on Earth turns into an Orwellian police state, something is horribly wrong.

2 12 2010
razzray

So, now that I have had a chance to think this over, and discuss it with my partner, it makes me feel a bit differently….

Doesn’t it seem that with people demanding safety and security when they travel, yet wanting to still use airplanes as a mode of transportation, EVEN THOUGH there have been so many incidents of bombings, terrorism, etc. that security agencies have no choice but to infringe on our “civil liberties”? If that one mother HAD been carrying something and concealing it in her child, which is entirely possible when you look at fanaticism (which creates terrorism, in my view) wouldn’t the agents be applauded for using these measures?

I think that perhaps they do overstep their bounds in some cases, as many people in places of authority do, but if we choose to fly, we choose to accept the reality that heavier security measures are necessary.

2 12 2010
Wayne

Again, it all boils down to how much control you want your government to have over your person.

If you’re willing to have your genitals groped, compliantly remove any prosthetics / panty liners / tampons, and submit to having someone take nude pictures of you, where do YOU draw the line? How far does this have to go before YOU say, “Enough”?

Leave a Reply

