Urban Legends Will Never Die

16 12 2009

Modern urban legends, do you buy into them?  Do you perpetuate them?  Do you believe them?

There are so many of them these days… help the girl kidnapped… twitter updates, facebook is raping your privacy, or they are going to start charging you money to use their service…

I shake my head.   Recently a load of people have been mass updating about the searchability of Facebook on Google… it’s not new.. it’s old.. I know because I changed the settings ages ago.  Yes Facebook changed something recently.. and updated every user about it.  If you ignored it then whose fault is that???   Anyway.. a couple of people in Taiwan kinda got into a bit of a ‘conversation’ about it… and I just couldn’t resist.  Here is a the pertinent part of what I wrote.

(she had mentioned people stalking and using facebook to find your personal information .. look up you address etc. ) In Taiwan???  You know there are no white pages here right…. honestly, you’re getting overly excited.. all the searchability on FB isn’t new… you’re just discovering it… I have known about it for ages… stalkers are much more low tech they just chill outside your house and learn what they want.

You need to understand ALL of this information is readily available somewhere if you know where to look and feel like it.  Even if you have never been online, there is still tons of info out there for those inclined to find it.

It never ceases to amaze me how much the illusion of privacy gets folks riled up… if you put it out there then it’s not private. period.  end of story that means a blog, facebook whatever, if you post it then someone somewhere can access it.  Regardless of your privacy settings, if a hacker wants in and lets face it 50% of kids today are pretty much able to hack most mid-level systems, they’ll get in.

As for facebook and their sneakiness, it’s just not true it’s an urban legend, they let you know when they change settings.  I know because I received a notification to check my privacy settings a few weeks back when they implemented new things.  People who don’t know should pay attention when they get stuff from facebook right on the main page.  Plus they never change your previous settings, my stuff is all set to only friend, (except my photo albums) and it has never changed, not once.  And as a matter of fact, most of the times they have implemented something new (and I got a notification) I checked and it followed my current default settings of friends only.

I’m not attacking you or anything, but I wanted to let you know what the real deal is.  These messages that go all viral are just modern urban legends.  No one is suddenly changing you privacy levels, nor are they every going to start charging you money to use facebook 🙂  Not that you have believed those, I’m just saying it’s all slices from the same pie.  Some shit disturbers somewhere is playing on people’s lack of technological knowledge, knows that people aren’t being observant and then taking advantage of many people’s fear of losing their privacy and rights.  Ass wads 😉  Prolly a buncha boys somewhere 😀 lol.

I tried to make sure it didn’t come off super mean or bitchy, I certainly didn’t mean it like that.  But I’m just amazed at what everyone get sucked into.  Then there was a bunch of stuff about how if you don’t want people to know what you’re up to .. maybe you shouldn’t be putting it online and posting pictures… (I stand by this)   Then my friend tells us that reliable tech blogs are all talking about this Facebook, Google issue… um.. just telling me you’re getting your information from tech blogs doens’t tell me shit.. every ass with a computer (myself included) has an oppinon, and states them as fact to make sure we all listen to them.

Really? Give me a link to these things so I can decide for myself whether they are reliable sources or not.  You know I don’t even care….

Give me a break… what it boils down to is your worried about your privacy.. then you should get off the f-ing computer.  And even then it’s an illusion… you have no real privacy… live with it.  or bury you head in the sand… live a happy life and don’t worry about it.  But getting all riled about about something silly like google is searching facebook and taking your information that you freely posted there.  You’re kidding me, right?

How the hell can Google and Facebook be invading your privacy?? It’s not like someone hacking into your private files on your computer, or coming into your home or even looking through your window.   You know what it’s like?  It’s like someone looking at you as they pass you on the street, the street that you voluntarily went out on.

Magda shakes her head at you.

🙂  I do have to say, it’s all made me so cynical, I want to think when I see a wish to help someone with cancer, or find a lost kid that it’s a real thing and I would like to pass it on or help in someway.  But I know that 99% of the time it’s BS, and now everything that crosses my patch gets a sideways look.  As a matter of fact, most things just get dismissed, immediately.

Oh for a reliable source on what’s what.. you can check out snopes.com.. they are very good at researching a debunking rumors urban legends and fake stories.  But don’t take my word for it, go have a look yourself and decide if you feel it’s a reliable source (I feel it is, as it’s been long standing and the information I have found there has been verified in several other locations).

Actions

Information

One response

9 01 2010
Lucy

I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

Alena

Leave a Reply

