Grumpy sickypoo and MSG

30 03 2009

So I’m sick, and I’m feeling very sorry for myself.  I had to work all day.. and what’s worse I always feel better in the evening when I’m done work and then I can’t sleep.  But all day I wish I was in bed… sigh 😦 I guess it’s better I went to work, at least I made some money.

This last weekend I didn’t do a durned thing, well I did do a lot of studying.  I didn’t really have anything else to do in my room other than watch tv and study Chinese.

I just got an email from my sister about the evils of MSG.  I always knew MSG was bad for you and caused all kinds of health problems.  But I didn’t realize that it was in quite as many things as it is.  Apparently it may be one of the major causes of obesity in North America.

I’ve never been much of a fan of packaged stuff, I make most of my food from scratch or reasonably close to from scratch.   I don’t really like most junk food, well bought junk food, I’m so down with the junk food I make myself.  😉  It was pretty interesting how much ‘normal’ food had MSG in it.. under different names no less.  I hate that sneak-y-ness! [This Site] lists a lot of the heath problems that arise from consuming MSG.  And [Here] is a site with a list of names that MSG is often hidden behind.  There is also a little blurb on the evils of  aspartame … mmm num nums.

😀 That’s all  .. bed time!  stupid cough… 😦 I guess I’ll study till I get sleepy.

Oh and Tracey laughs at me because crepes are my happy place 😛

Actions

Information

One response

31 03 2009
Nadine

yikes! that is some scary stuff- I don’t eat a lot of “diet” foods just to avoid the aspartame (they actually put it in some children’t multivitamins for christsake), but I’m almost ALWAYS chewing sugar free gum, never gave it a second thought. I will be getting rid of what’s left in my cupboard right away!

Leave a Reply

