Does Shaving make more hair Grow?

27 01 2009

I know that everyone thinks it’s true…. but is it reallly?  Does shaving really make more hair grow?  Does it really make the hair grow back thicker and courser?  I think it does… but has anyone proved it?  And if so.. why?  I mean really think about it… it doesn’t make any sense why the heck would cutting of hair from the outside make the hair grow back more, thicker and courser… logically it makes no real sense.

Yet waxing, epilating etc… makes less hairs grow back and the ones that do grow are thinner, softer etc.  Now that I can understand… the hairs are ripped out by the root so they would be weaker and some of them might not grow back.

So I’m thinking about this in the shower… and I decide.. what fun experiment time!!!  Warning armpit talk is a coming (this is not my fault … this is just the sort of thing that starts to happen when you have nothing to do all day long 😉 ).

So, I distinctly remember when I started shaving my armpits (when I was a teenager) and how the hair got all snaggly and rough… now I’m assuming some of that had to be because of puberty and just general body changes, but when I switched to waxing them (yes it hurt like hell, and yes it was so very worth it) the hair almost magically changed .. just like leg hair or something.

So for the next several months I’m going to epilate one side and shave the other side.. and see if it really does make them different… man if I had 3 armpits I could really do it scientific like you know …. the placebo test group.  Lucky me I can’t lol.

More armpit fuzz news to come :D.

Actions

Information

6 responses

27 01 2009
Dori

naaah. i found out that wasn’t true.
i honestly believe people say that because once they shave, they get used to the bare nakedness of it… then when it grows back they dont believe how hairy they were before they shaved haha. thats my philosophy on the whole body hairy thingamabob

27 01 2009
Dave

Nope it just grows back as before. I shave everyday and nothing new happens.

27 01 2009
Nadine

I can’t wait to hear your results. Sounds sort of like when I was testing self-tanners to see which was the best one, since most of them are so orangey. I tried them two at a time, but just in case there was a huge difference in shade, I used my buttcheeks instead of my legs so no one would notice! 🙂

28 01 2009
Dee

Dude. Get a life.

KIDDING! I am kinda curious.

28 01 2009
razzray

I wax my underarms, and it grows back way softer. And, not being able to wax, I had to shave in Honduras and it is icky rough again. But, my legs don’t seem to care if I wax or shave. Bastards.

30 01 2009
Magdalicious

Hi there Dori! Yeah I’m pretty sure it’s a wives tale… but I’m bored 😀

Dave, you’re a boy.. so .. shush.

Nadine… HAHAHAHAHAHAAHHAHAHAHAHAHAH … no really.. that’s hilarious!!!

Dee.. SUCK IT BITCH.. heh… 😉 j/k

Ray yeah but is it softer because it doesn’t have those sharp ends.. or is the hair really finer and softer? WE SHALL SEE!!! lol sorry to hear of the leg betrayal 😀

Leave a Reply

