Web: Pandora Music Genome Project

20 01 2009

I don’t know if you have heard of Pandora, but it’s been around for a few years and it’s awesome possum! The only shit thing is you can only access the blurry thing from the United States (and possibly Canada, Those of you in Canada let me know).

pandoraEssentially what it is, is an online radio station. But what makes it mad cool is you enter a song title, album name, or artist name and then it compiles a series of songs that are of a similar sound. You can make it more specific by adding more songs, titles, or artists to a single station. It chooses songs with similar style and similar artists and plays them for you, from there you click “I like it” or “I don’t like it”.

On top of playing that song more or never again it helps the program understand your musical preferences and gives you more new songs to judge. After a couple of hours it generally gets things pretty right, and introduces you to new songs and artists that you might never have come across otherwise.

Before they blocked it so only people in the US could use it, I found it amazing. It introduced me to many new artists and songs that I really doubt I would have come across otherwise. Even with listening to radio you often hear a song you like but don’t note the name at the time, and damned if you can go back and check it. With Pandora you can :D.

www.pandora.com

If you like to listen to music, and you can access the site, I highly recommend checking out and using Pandora.

On a side note, if you’re a cheeky one like me you can use a proxy or VPN to access Pandora from abroad. If you don’t know what they are maybe don’t play with them… I’m sure I’ll make a post about them eventually, when I do I’ll link it back to this post ;).

Actions

Information

7 responses

20 01 2009
Dave

I “hope” they say it’s as good as it should be!

20 01 2009
Nadine

I used it a while back, but I think I had to use a fake zip code to access it, since it wouldn’t accept members from Canada. I’m not sure if that’s changed now or not, I haven’t used it in a while.

20 01 2009
Paul

I recall a number of my friends being angry a couple years ago when the service was discontinued in Canada over legal issues with rights in the music industry. It was a fairly efficent service, if memory serves, and did work (largely) as advertised.

21 01 2009
Nadine

just tried it – won’t work anymore – dammit!

22 01 2009
Magdalicious

My friend recommended some alternate sites, I’ll check them out and let you know 🙂

23 01 2009
Paul

I can recommend http://www.galaxie.ca. 😉 Less control, but a quick way to get some access to background music or some of the new stuff you’d never buy, but might want for a single afternoon.

24 01 2009
Magdalicious

Hmm cool, I’ll give it a go.. thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

