Sunshine kills the S.A.D.s

14 01 2009

Have you ever wondered why I’m such a little sun bunny? Why I can happily wile hour after hour away in the sun, doing nothing more than listening to music, reading a book or even better… just laying there happy as a pig in mud?

Well as it turns out, I have two medical reasons to be this way. Now I’m not going to pretend that I don’t like it, because I sure do :P. But I really do have real medical issues, both of which happen to have only one truly effective treatment. And that is, SUN! Yeah!

One of the ailments that I suffer from, and I really do suffer from it, is SAD also known as Seasonal Affective Disorder. What exactly is that you ask?

This is a little information from The Canadian Mental Health Association.

a type of depression that follows a seasonal pattern… SAD can be a debilitating condition, preventing sufferers from functioning normally. It may affect their personal and professional lives, and seriously limit their potential. …..

benefit from spending more time outdoors during the day and by arranging their environments so that they receive maximum sunlight. ………..

Increasing your exposure to light, monitoring your diet, sleep patterns and exercise levels are important

Sometimes, it’s not so bad and sometimes it really sucks. It really sucks when I don’t notice it creeping up on me (like recently). The things that indicate to me that I’m starting to have a problem, are craving sweets, not wanting to go outside even if it’s sunny, not wanting to exercise, sleeping longer than needed, feeling suddenly down, getting unduly upset, sad or angry.

It’s stupid, because generally I know when it starts to bother me and I know what to do. All I need to do is not pig out, go running, take vitamin B and expose my self to sunlight. Fake tanning will do the trick, if there are no sunny days to be had.

My other little issue, sprang up in my late teens I didn’t notice it often as I’ve been a bit of a tanner, but I had it officially diagnosed a couple of years ago with a dermatologist. Psoriasis Is a non contagious skin condition, which doesn’t do much other than be icky looking.

non-contagious disorder which affects the skin and joints. It commonly causes red scaly patches to appear on the skin. The scaly patches caused by psoriasis, called psoriatic plaques, are areas of inflammation and excessive skin production. Skin rapidly accumulates at these sites and takes on a silvery-white appearance.

The cause of psoriasis is not known, but it is believed to have a genetic component…. it most commonly appears for the first time between the ages of 15 and 25 years….

..daily, short, non-burning exposure to sunlight helped to clear or improve psoriasis…

I get both skin plaques and scalp psoriasis, neither are all that bad but they are gross and annoying. Luckily for me, Photo treatment is super effective for me, hence I play play play in the sun all day.

As I burst into tears twice today (over nothing), and am running for hermit of the year… I think I might need to get me a little sun.


Actions

Information

3 responses

14 01 2009
Nadine

I knew you had SAD but I didn’t know about the psoriasis. I also didn’t know that sunshine treats it! I’ve never dealt with SAD but I did have post partum depression pretty bad after I had Haley, it helped to have friends that were willing to let me get pissed off at them while they dragged me out of the house kicking and screaming. It came and went, sometimes I would be up at the crack of dawn chipper as could be, other days I couldn’t force myself to even get dressed until late afternoon, and by then, why bother, right? Hope you feel better soon. Lots of hugs to you from WAY over here!

14 01 2009
Magdalicious

Yeah, the SADS is annoying. Yeah it’s cool that sun treats both of them. I found out the psoriasis was treated with UV light by accident before I even knew I had it… Someone at a tanning salon noticed a patch and asked if I had it. I didn’t know what is was so I said no.. and she said oh well if you did.. you’ve come to the right place to get rid of it.

Bummer about the post partum, glad you’re feeling better.

14 01 2009
Dave

Oh those poor little S.A.D.s!

Leave a Reply

