The beast has escaped….. ROAR

4 01 2009

dragonPossibly little known fact… I’m a total shoe freak. LOve love love shoes… I have hidden and controlled all these urges/obsession for years. To the point that I had thought the Beast tamed if not defeated.

WRONG clearly it was just napping. All those times I went into stores and was wonderfully practical, clearly I was in and out before it raised its ugly head and fixed its beady little eyes

These are the ones bought initially.

These are the ones bought initially.

on the ‘pretties’. I’ve been looking at pictures… (I’ll tell you why in a second)

and I swear my heart rate has actually jumped. Feel mildly high right now and it’s taking all my will power to stay put and not hit the shops.

Luckily my title as ‘el Cheapo’ is a nice curbing factor :D. Shoes cost loads of $$$

So this year for Christmas Tracey and Melissa thought it would be a cool idea to get me some funky/nice shoes. Because Tracey remembers the days of the shoe love (pre taming of the beast), and I never spend that much money on my self, and I especially haven’t gotten nice shoes in ages. You know sometimes I worry that I take the being careful with my money thing too far, (and sometimes not far enough :P).

And these are the ones I ended up getting, yay!

And these are the ones I ended up getting, yay!

It’s funny just the other day I was thinking, sniffle I have no pretties anymore.

Now I swear to you, I really genuinely thought I had totally mastered my shoe obsession. I’ve been shoe shopping and the shoes have either been bum, uncomfortable or really out of control expensive. Turns out when things are logically ridiculous it’s moderately easy to be apathetic. But when it’s a gift… the gloves came off… The girl at the store looked at me like I had three heads and a sword when I walked up to her with 10 pairs of shoes and asked if she had them in an 8. And I danced my way back to the shelves to pick more out…

In the end I needed to be talked out of buying another three pairs, you know something nice and practical, this CUTE little slip on heels and some really funky shoes. If money

I'm still thinking about getting these ...what do you think?

I'm still thinking about getting these ...what do you think?

wasn’t an issue I would have dropped a grand (USD) without even batting an eyelash. And that was being totally reasonable and conservative. A little confession at this point… the beast is the same one that damn near bought $2000 boots (designer and HOT obviously) because they were too wonderful to pass up. One of my shop-a-holic friends actually felt the need to step in and stop me, she insisted I wait 7 days if I still felt they worth it after 7 days then I should get them. Obviously I came to my senses as the heady smell of fresh leather, and tippy heals wore off. But it was a very near thing for a minute.

I felt a stirring of the old, shoe mania.. still do.. I just spent an hour or so looking at shoe pictures to show you guys the shoes.. and now all I want is an expense account and days to play in the shops… sigh I shall dreams of the pretties all night. What do you think should I get the weird ones? They look really cool on (just kinda weird on their own)…

Actions

Information

9 responses

5 01 2009
angelfire777

omg – those boots are to DIE for – I want them….

5 01 2009
bex

WHAT no comments, wow, i know you love the shoes… i say if the beast is out, wait the seven days but waiting seven days with a pic of them on your fridge and in your wallet dosent count…

b

5 01 2009
catcairn

Liked the first two. hate the heal on the third one
love mom

5 01 2009
Dave

Imelda Marcos has risen from the grave! Hey it’s snowing on your page!

5 01 2009
Magdalicious

I know the snow was cool hu!!

Yeah I thought the high was gone till I went and picked the damn things up.. I almost got the shakes… was like .. wait wait I’m pretty sure it’s totally reasonable to blow my entire month’s wages on shoes.. GLORIOUS shoes…

Breathe… ok I’m ok now.. 😀 (maybe)

6 01 2009
Carla

LOVE THE TOP PAIR!!! (Do you call your shoes ‘pretties’? BAHAH, so cute.)

6 01 2009
Carla

PS – Not crazy about the bottom ones.

6 01 2009
Magdalicious

lol.. yeah I think the crazies have worn off. I’ll just wear my boots all the time!!

6 01 2009
Dave

Ahh yes that’s called “price tag shock”. Which is just like “sticker shock”.

Leave a Reply

