Influence

19 10 2008

I don’t know if you have heard of NLP (neuro-linguistic programming). I’ve heard of it as a hokey BS thing and something with real merit. Generally speaking as I understand it, it’s a form of hypnosis and influencing yourself and others with simple deliberate words, thoughts and actions. I honestly think there is something really interesting about all of this.

This video I found is a really cool example of how you can really influence someone with simple actions. There are several other videos, but they all seem to be more the usual hypnosis parlor tricks. Watch right to the end… it’s actually very interesting what you see and hear vs what you thought you saw and heard. I have been hypnotized a few times so there are several things I recognize, but there are things that are so obvious yet subtle when they go over it at the end.

There is a lot of information and resources about NLP out there and a lot of it is just GARBAGE. There are gems in the rough, but I don’t pretend that I know what the good stuff is. There is a web page where some guy organized and rated a lot of books, although I didn’t find it very helpful [link] you can alway check it out if you are interested.

This web series of NLP 101 links seem good, but I haven’t read them all yet. And also I found this free online book on the subject, so far it seems pretty interesting.

I hope you find this interesting, if you know anything interesting and want to share, please do in the comments!

Actions

Information

11 responses

19 10 2008
Dave

Subliminal submitting for those of weak minds who will fall for it. Mind over matter.

19 10 2008
Magdalicious

I don’t really agree with the statement that people who are affected have weak minds…..

20 10 2008
Nadine

I haven’t had a chance to watch the video, but from what I understand, NLP is actually a very useful tool used widely by hypnotherapists. It wasn’t part of my training but I would love to learn it. It’s also used by advertisers, by lawyers, anyone wishing to convince someone of something… and not just those with “weak minds”…

20 10 2008
miltownkid

NLP is made up of a wide range of ideas and practices and there’s no clear “standard” of what it embodies and doesn’t embody. This is why there is “crap” mixed in with “awesome.”

I picked up three books about NLP and I haven’t finished any of them yet (but I started 2). The three books are “Unlimited Selling Power: How to Master Hypnotic Selling Skills”, “Monsters and Magic Sticks: There’s No Such Thing As Hypnosis”, and “My Voice Will Go With You: The teaching Tales of Milton H. Erickson.”

I also attended a couple of sessions with a group that was meeting once a week to talk about NLP.

My experience will all of these things tells me that there is definitely something to NLP. The trick is taking the time to figure out which something is actually something and which something is nothing. I think technically the book “Influence: Science and Practice” could fall into the category of NLP.

20 10 2008
mom

very subtle. I too do not think it is for the weak minded. I did get most of the keys and I did know he would want the cycle and that it would be red. very cool. with my training not really surprising I guess. but i found it very interesting.

20 10 2008
Dave

If you get the wool pulled over your eyes. Then it’s a con job!

20 10 2008
Magdalicious

@ Mom yeah I noticed most of it… just the ‘misspoken’ words went right over my head… I chalked a lot of it up to accent.

21 10 2008
mom

yes some of those i missed too and I did the same heard it but chalked it up to accent too. but then it can be done with out miss speaking the words if you have the ability ….lol YOU know what I mean…lol

21 10 2008
Magdalicious

@MTK The lack of clear definition explains why there are many different impressions and ideas about what NLP is and why no one seems clear on it. I think it also might explain a lot of the negative impressions people get, I find it’s common for us to distrust thing we do not understand.

I’ll have to take a peak at those books when I return the others. 🙂

21 10 2008
Elliott

I didn’t read all of what you wrote… but I went to a hypnotist last week and it was pure BS. That said I’ve also been to a hypnotist that wasn’t BS. What up?

21 10 2008
Magdalicious

Not too much! you?

Leave a Reply

