Cat urination…

20 04 2008

… so.. we have a problem.  I don’t want to have to put my cat down and I would rather not have to give him away….

But he’s started peeing on things… once on inkai’s bed and today on a shirt Tracey had on the chair the shirt especially was clearly deliberate… but we don’t know what to do really… going to try cleaning the litter more often.  We suspect he is jealous of Tracey’s boyfriend..  but there was nothing today that should have provoked or upset him…. sigh any suggestions would be welcome.

Actions

Information

13 responses

21 04 2008
anonymous

It’s spring… he could just be in heat. Is he fixed? They spray when they’re in heat,and in a few cases, they don’t completely get over the “urges” even when fixed. Talk to a vet about it, I’m sure you don’t have to put him down.

22 04 2008
new_me_jo_dee

It may very well be an attention thing. He might also be marking his territory against the boy. But the main thing is the litter box. Cats are notoriously finicky about cleanliness, and if it’s not at LEAST scooped every day, he will stop using it.

22 04 2008
kat_lady

Oh dear… I have been there before. You won’t have to put the cat down, but I totally understand how frustrating this can be. I had a very similar problem with my cat Misha, who decided that he was unhappy with the current living situation. I had full-time school, work, and scuba lessons going on at the time, plus my roommate would lock the cats in my very small room for hours, and they had just moved from my Dad’s where they had the freedom of outdoors to a small rental where they were not allowed out (except on a leash in the yard). So Misha showed his disapproval by pooping on my bed. He’d wait until I got home and then do it, just so I was sure he was mad at ME. I took him to the vet and tried a number of things like placing a makeshift litter box where he was taking his dumps, and he didn’t use it. He continued to poop on my bed. Very frustrating when you use a laundromat and only have one set of bedsheets. The vet said he had anxiety problems. He gave Misha a prescription for Clomicalm, which is like prozac for cats/dogs. It calmed him down, but didn’t change his personality. When his living situation improved, he was able to come off the drugs with no problem.

Misha is very attention needy. It could be that your cat is feeling threatened by a male in the house, and that there is attention being given to a male other than him. They do sense the difference between male and female humans and cats are often less tolerant of men. Extra attention to the cat and maybe an extra litter box may help. Have the new guy get to know the cat so he doesn’t feel threatened. You can’t punish the cat unless you catch them in the act, or they don’t understand what they are being punished for. But you can reward the cat for good behaviour, like a treat for using the litter box.

I hope your cat works out his anxiety issues. It may take some time, but I think you’ll find a solution. But man, I really feel for you. I was at my wits end with Misha. If nothing behaviour-wise helps, there is always Clomicalm, even though it may seem like a poor way out. There really wasn’t any options left at the time until I could find a better living situation for the cats. The cat drugs were a life saver.

Best of luck! And if you do end up going with kitty meds, let me know and I’ll give you tips for getting him to take them.

22 04 2008
anonymous

take him to the vet if he has stones in his urinary trace he cat help him self but if not put him down and make sure you put vienger on any thing he has peed on before you wash it or you will never get the smell out of it completely. I love pets too. we all know i know my stuff do not be foolish you cant live with a cat the pees on things because it is mad at you or someone or something. It means it is not right in the head and it will always do it. You can not live you life having to placate a cat. You live will be hell.
mom

22 04 2008
magdalicious

Yeah, we won’t be keeping him if it continues to be a problem… but ti’s happened twice but both seemed to be vengeance or anger related.. I will look into medication as he’s a little high strung anyway… Also I’;; try to work something out with my roommates that we try to clean the little more often… (tho I don’t think thats the problem.)

22 04 2008
magdalicious

Yeah I think it’s the outside people thing he kinda has issues and he hates men

22 04 2008
magdalicious

No he;s a boy and he got fixed when he was really little… but thanks for the suggestions. I think he’s just cranky and punishing those in the house who are ‘getting some’ lol .. I almost want him to pee on my stuff LOL if only because that would mean I was getting some action!

23 04 2008
silverblu

Cats don’t hesitate to let you know how pissed they are at you, do they? I don’t have any advice to give you, but I hope you can get it worked out. It would suck to have to get him put down 😦

23 04 2008
magdalicious

Yeah I’m sure we can work it out.. lol I’m all for drugging him 😀

23 04 2008
magdalicious

Wow thanks for the in depth response…. ! I feel like I should write something exciting back! Thanks for all the suggestions I’m thinking about ‘drugging him’ 😀 He’s kinda spazzy anyway might help chill him out a little.

23 04 2008
anonymous

If the cat is mental you need to think about how unfair it is to give this problem to someone else. Do you want to live with a dirty cat. If he is that high strung I think you should put him down.
mom
PS i know its a hard thing to do, as you know I am the one how usually dose it for everyone.

23 04 2008
magdalicious

he’s not that mental 😀

Not hard for me I dont’ really like him that much 😀

24 04 2008
kat_lady

heeheee…. I had a slow day at work, so I thought I would try and do one thing useful for the day. I totally understand how frustrating and stressful that can be, so just wanted to give you as much info from my experience as I could. Hopefully the drugs help.

As for getting them down his throat, try rolling the pills in bit-size chunks of wet food. The stinkier the better, as it will disguise it well. Make it into a ball just big enough for him to pick up and swallow without having to bite through it. Only way I could get my cats to take pills.

Leave a Reply

